The Northumberland Schools' Athletic Association was formed in 1949.

The first county championship was then held on 9th July, 1949 at Gosforth and a team sent to the 1949 ESAA Championship at Carshalton.

They were successful in their first ESAA Championship with Ron Henderson of Wallsend District taking the Boys Junior 880 yards title in a record time of 2 min 9.2 secs.

Northumberland hosted the ESAA Championship for the first time in 1954 when it was held in Ashington. Over 1,700 competitors from 39 counties took part.

OLYMPIC GAMES MEDALLIST

Mike McLeod 1984 10000m Silver

1967 I CC-23

EUROPEAN CHAMPIONSHIP MEDALLIST

Laura Weightman 2014 and 2018 1500m Bronze

2007 | 1500m-1, 2008 S 1500m-1, 2009 S 1500m-1

COMMONWEALTH GAMES MEDALLISTS

Laura Weightman 2014 1500m Silver, 2018 5000m Bronze

2007 | 1500m-1, 2008 S 1500m-1, 2009 S 1500m-1

Sally Scott 2014 Pole Vault Bronze

2007 I PV-3

Bruce Fraser 1970 Hammer Throw Silver

1962 I HT-2, 1963 I HT-1, 1964 S HT-1

Ian Chipchase 1974 Hammer Throw Gold

1969 S HT-1, 1970 S HT-1

Mike McLeod 1978 10000m Bronze

1967 I CC-23

lan McCombie 1986 and 1990 30k Walk Bronze

1975 J 3k Walk-1, 1976 I 5k Walk-1, 1977 I 5k Walk-1, 1979 S 10k

Walk-1

Mark Hudspith 1994 Marathon Bronze

1987 S 3000m-h-7

BRITISH CHAMPIONS

Ann Oliver 1953 800m

1953 S 220y-h

Shirley Webb 2005 Hammer Throw

2000 I HT-2

Sonia Thomas 2011 10000m

1995 I CC-2

Laura Weightman 2012, 2014, 2017-2018 1500m

2007 I 1500m-1, 2008 S 1500m-1, 2009 S 1500m-1

Sarah McDonald 2019 1500m

2011 S 800m-h-4

lan McCombie 1984 10k Walk, 1985 3k Walk, 1986-1988, 1991 10k Walk

1975 J 3k Walk-1. 1976 I 5k Walk-1, 1977 I 5k Walk-1, 1979 S 10k

Walk-1

Nick McCormick 2005 1500m

1998 I 800m-3, 2000 S 1500m-3

Niall S. Flannery 2014 and 2015 400m Hurdles

2007 I 400mH-1, 2008 S 400mH-1, 2009 S 400mH-1

Notes regarding the athlete details shown above:

An entry for each athlete consists of the first line detailing their Major Championship medal win or their British Championship title win. Second (and subsequent) lines show their ESAA championship performances in the abbreviated format – yyyy a eeee p where :

yyyy Championship Year

Age Group (I – Intermediate, J – Junior, S – Senior, pre-1948 the age groups were Under-16 (U16) and Under- 14 (U14))

eeee Event

Place achieved (note an 'h-' indicates the performance was in a heat and 'r-' indicates it was in a preliminary round)

ESAA GIRLS CHAMPIONS

I	JT	Jean Elliott
S	JT	Jean Elliott
S	LJ	Sheila Batey
S	JT	Jean Elliott
J	DT	Brenda Reeve
S	DT	Lesley Elliott
J	LJ	Linda Pears
J	CC	Lisa Reilly
J	HJ	Emma Baker
J	CC	Angie Foster
J	1500m	Caroline Wood
J	CC	Justina Heslop
J	75mH	Kate Forsyth
J	CC	Nicola Coates
1	3000m	Kate Grimshaw
J	CC	Carley Wilson
J	800m	Claire Taylor
ı	HJ	Emily Jackson
J	75mH	Rebecca Liddell
ı	1500m	Laura Weightman
S	100mH	Lauren Dewdney
S	1500m	Laura Weightman
S	1500m	Laura Weightman
J	4x100m	Northumberland
I	100m	Joy Eze
	2 S S J J J J J J J J J J J J J J J J J	S JT S LJ S JT J DT S DT J LJ J CC J HJ J CC J 1500m J CC J 75mH J CC I 3000m J CC J 800m I HJ J 75mH I 1500m S 100mH S 1500m S 1500m J 4x100m

ESAA BOYS CHAMPIONS

1949	J	880y	Ron Henderson	1978	S	400m	William Armstrong
1950	S	100y	Alan Lillington	1979	S	10k Walk	Ian McCombie
1950	S	4x110y	Northumberland	1983	J	800m	Terry West
1952	J	4x110y	Northumberland	1983	I	800m	Albert James
1963	I	4x110y	Northumberland	1984	S	3000m	David Miles
1963	1	HT	Bruce Fraser	1985	S	CC	Sean Cundy
1964	J	HT	Paul Dickenson	1988	S	800m	Terry West
1964	1	880y	Robert Littlefield	1990	J	PV	Chris Eyre
1964	1	HT	Christopher Davison	1991	S	CC	Ceri Rees
1964	S	HT	Bruce Fraser	1992	S	110mH	Kevin Lumsdon
1965	J	880y	Nick Brown	1993	J	CC	John Pattison
1965	I	HT	Paul Dickenson	1993	S	110mH	Kevin Lumsdon
1965	S	HJ	Michael Evans	1994	I	CC	Robert Brown
1966	J	HT	David Rogers	1994	S	110mH	Simon McAree
1966	J	SP	Malcolm Scott	1995	1	100mH	Ben Warmington
1966	1	880y	David Wright	1995	S	2000mST	Mark McGarry
1966	I	HT	Paul Dickenson	1997	J	800m	Ketan Desai
1966	S	HT	Christopher Davison	1998	S	110mH	Liam Collins
1967	S	1M	David Wright	1999	J	200m	David Riley
1967	S	HT	Paul Dickenson	2000	I	100mH	Peter Middleton
1968	J	HT	Robert Rutherford	2004	S	CC	Kirk Wilson
1968	I	HT	David Rogers	2005	S	800m	Kieran Flannery
1968	S	HT	Paul Dickenson	2007	I	CC	Ross Murray
1969	1	SP	William Curley	2007	1	1500m	Ross Murray
1969	S	HT	Ian Chipchase	2007	1	400mH	Niall S Flannery
1970	S	HT	Ian Chipchase	2008	1	PV	Tim Parkin
1972	1	HT	Phil Scott	2008	S	400mH	Niall S Flannery
1973	J	HT	Stephen Watson	2009	S	400mH	Niall S Flannery
1974	J	TJ	William Armstrong	2010	J	LJ	Michael McArdle
1975	J	3k Walk	Ian McCombie	2014	J	1500m	Max Pearson
1975	1	HT	Stephen Watson	2014	1	400mH	Reuben Cole
1976	J	HJ	M. Lisle	2015	1	100mH	Jason Nicholson
1976	1	5k Walk	Ian McCombie	2018	1	3000m	Sam Charlton
1976	S	HT	Stephen Watson	2019	J	1500m	Joshua Blevins
1977	1	5k Walk	Ian McCombie	2019	1	DT	James Wordsworth
1977	S	HT	Stephen Watson	2019	S	CC	Sam Charlton
1978	J	IJ	David Conway	2019	S	400m	Matthew Waterfield

SCHOOLS INTERNATIONAL ATHLETICS BOARD (SIAB)

The SIAB hold 3 annual international meetings for school athletes from England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales. These are *Cross Country, Track and Field* and *Indoor Pentathlon Internationals*. A fourth championship, an *Indoor Track and Field International* meeting, was also held from 1990 to 2000.

SIAB GIRLS WINNERS

198	33	J	CC	Lisa Reilly	1995	1	3000m	Kate Grimshaw
199	90	1	800m	Emma Brady	1995	J	CC	Carley Wilson
199	90	J	CC	Angela Foster	1996	1	CC	Nicola Coates
199	92	1	CC	Angela Foster	2007	1	1500m	Laura Weightman
199	93	J	CC	Justina Heslop	2019	1	100m	Joy Eze
199	94	U16	i60mH	Kate Forsyth				

SIAB BOYS WINNERS

1963	S	TJ	Malcolm McDonald	1986	J	CC	Ceri Madoc Rees
1964	S	HT	Bruce Fraser	1987	1	100mH	Richard Hunter
1966	S	HT	Christopher Davison	1994	1	CC	Robert Brown
1967	S	HT	Paul Dickenson	1998	U16	i800m	Ketan Desai
1968	S	HT	Paul Dickenson	2000	U16	i200m	David Riley
1969	S	HT	Ian Chipchase	2008	1	PV	Tim Parkin
1970	S	HT	Ian Chipchase	2015	1	100mH	Jason Nicholson
1975	1	HT	Stephen Watson	2018	1	3000m	Sam Charlton
1975	1	TJ	William Armstrong	2019	1	DT	James Wordsworth

SIAB winning performances are shown in the abbreviated format – yyyy a eeee where :

yyyy Championship Year

a Age Group (I – Intermediate, J – Junior, S – Senior, Under-16 (U16), Over-16 (O16) and Under-18 (U18))

eeee Event (preceded by an 'i' indicates at a SIAB indoor meeting)

EUROPEAN JUNIOR / U20 MEDALLIST - GIRLS

2021 Joy Eze 100m Bronze and 4 x 100m Gold

EUROPEAN YOUTH / U18 MEDALLIST - BOYS

2016 Jason Nicholson 110m Hurdles Bronze

MULTI-SPORT ATHLETE

Many athletes who competed in the English Schools' Athletic Association (ESAA) Championships have become very successful in a wide variety of sports including Bobsleigh, Boxing, Cricket, Cycling, Darts, Football, Hockey, Modern Pentathlon, Netball, Powerlifting, Rowing, Rugby League, Rugby Union, Skeleton, Triathlon and Weightlifting.

Details follow of a Northumberland ESAA competitor who went on to have a successful career in another sport :

FOOTBALL – LUCY BRONZE

Lucy represented Northumberland when finishing 16th in the 2006 ESAA Junior Pentathlon. At this time Lucy was captain of the Sunderland FC Under-16 football team.

She played for the Sunderland first team from 2007 to 2010 and then for Everton before signing for Liverpool in 2012. In 2013 Lucy was awarded her first cap for England. Moves to Manchester City (2014) and Olympique Lyonnais (2017) followed. She returned to Manchester City in 2020 and became the first England player to win the *The Best FIFA Women's Player Award*.

As of February 2022, she had amassed 86 caps for England and 4 for Great Britain.